National U men’s badminton team sweeps UP; claims five-peat crown

National University successfully defended the men’s badminton title to clinch their fifth straight crown in the tournament after sweeping the University of the Philippines in their best-of-three finals, earlier today, October 12, 2018 at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Court.

Graduating smashers Ros Lee Pedrosa, Mike Minuluan, Allen Palmares and Alvin Morada showed poise and veteran presence after recording a 3-0 team tie to finally end UP’s chances in the season 81’s tournament. The championship title also marked National U’s 43rd straight win which dates back from Season 77.
According to head coach Jaime Llanes, the team’s persistence is the main key to their winning run.
“Ayaw kasi nilang mabahiran yung record, inaalagaan talaga nila, kasi sabi ko rin sa kanila, a record is a record.” Llanes said.

Pedrosa opened today’s match with a huge win against fourth year Maroon JM Bernardo, 21-17, 21-14 to set the tempo high for the Jhocson-based squad. Minuluan then did not let the NU crowd down after coming out victorious against Michael Clemente to give NU a 2-0 team tie edge. Morada and Palmares then made quick work of UP’s Harvey Tungul and Betong Pineda to hand the Bulldogs the crown.

Minuluan, named as this season’s most valuable player was a bit emotional after the final match.
“This is my last playing year, and I just want to thank National University. During the game I was also emotional because of the pressure, but we just focused to give NU the crown. I will also never forget my bonding with my teammates, they are the best.” Minuluan quipped in Filipino.

Coach Llanes shared that they are set to intensify their recruitment since Pedrosa, Minuluan, Palmares, Morada and Dawn Cuyno finished their playing years for National U.