Kings of UAAP Taekwondo: NU completes five-peat bid

The NU Bulldogs took their fifth consecutive championship in the UAAP Season 86 Collegiate Taekwondo after defeating UST last November 29, Wednesday at the Marikina Sports Complex.

NU with a 3-4 start, stained UST’s 4-0 record, disregarding the latter’s automatic 1-0 lead in the final series.
Sturdy Gilbuena, Dex Ian Chavez, Carl Louie Ayaton and Season MVP/featherweight gold medalist, Nusair Lao, worked together in dominating the Tiger jins 2-0 (6-0, 15-2). Gilbuena and Ayaton also bagged gold in the lightweight and welterweight divisions atop winning two more matches to seal the championship.
The Bulldogs managed to add another championship record despite the absence of last year’s MVP Kurt Barbosa for the finweight division.
“Yung sa men’s team, anim lang sila and disadvantage talaga for my boys na ganun ‘yung team, kasi kulang na kami eh. Parang nagbigay na kami kaagad ng puntos sa kalaban.” said head coach Carlos Padilla, who also brought the Bullpups to their first-ever championship.
“Wala namang ibang key kundi mag-train, mag-aral, at mag-strategize. Happy ako sa kinalabasan na lahat ng paghihirap nila nagbunga,” he concluded.
The Lady Bulldogs on the other hand took silver medals courtesy of national athlete and bantamweight gold medalist Veronica Garces backed by a flyweight title from Rajany Santos.